Legal Glossary- India

All | # A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
There are 2 names in this directory beginning with the letter M.
McMohan Line
McMohan Line is the boundary northeastern border of India and Tibet (now a part of China) that was demarcated by Henry McMohan, Secretary to the Government of India, in 1913 as a part of Shimla treaty between the two governments.

Mehrauli was founded by the King Mihir Bhoja of the Gujara-Pratihara Dynasty. The Lal Kot fort was constructed by the Gurjar Tanwar. Prithviraj Chauhan further expanded the fort and called it Qila Rai Pithora. Qutub-ud-din Aybak in 1206 enthroned himself as the first Sultan of Delhi. In 12th century Jain scriptures, the place is also mentioned as Yogninipura, noticeable by the presence of "Yogmaya Temple", near the Qutub Minar complex, believed to be built by the Pandavas. Many dynasties contributed Mehruli's architecture significantly. The most visible piece of architecture remains the Qutub complex. It is now a UNESCO world heritage site and the venue for the annual Qutub Festival. Mausoleum of Sufi saint, Khwaja Qutubuddin Bakhtiyar Kaki is also situated here and the venue for the annual Phoolwalon-ki-sair Festival. The dargah complex is also houses graves of later Mughals, baoli or stepwell and Moti Masjid. Balban's tomb is the first true arch in Indo-Islamic architecture. It also includes mosques of Sufi saint Shaikh Hamid bin Fazlullah, Shaikh Jamali Kamboh Dihlawi and Adham Khan's Tomb known as Bhulbhulaiyan and the tomb of Muhammad Quli Khan.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.